Fresh Roasted Beans for a Freshly Brewed Stout

sIDAMOA nice pint of “black and black” anyone? That’s what I call the coffee / stout mixture I’ve been known to imbibe on the occasional Sunday afternoon.

Living in Ethiopia raised my appreciation of coffee to a new level, so now that I’m back in the U.S. and settled into a regular homebrewing rhythm, I’ve decided to take the next logical step and roast my own coffee beans. I’ve been wanting to do this for years, so I finally ordered a Nesco Professional Coffee Roaster from Seven Bridges.

NescoFirst I brewed a dry Irish stout. Then I took the Nesco for it’s inaugural cruise. This roaster is a fairly straightforward contraption. A glass-enclosed auger rotates the coffee beans as hot air blows across them. With this particular machine, roasting about 5 ounces of green beans takes between 15-30 minutes depending on the degree of darkness you desire. It’s pretty much as simple as pouring in the beans and turning it on.

My plan is to pour in a few pints of cooled freshly-brewed coffee as I keg the stout. I’ve tried other methods of adding coffee to brews, but this seems like the simplest. Capital City Brewing uses the same method for their Fuel coffee stout, which I like rather well.

The beans I chose for my first roast are Ethiopian Washed Sidamo, and of course they are certified fair trade and organic. I can hardly wait to spend a Sunday afternoon about a month from now drinking pints of black and black dispensed from my beer engine.

Leave a Reply

