The Champagne of Organic Beers

I’m on a train from Washington D.C. Union Station to New York City Penn Station. I’m carrying a backpack filled with copies of my book and sleeves of coasters emblazoned with the book cover. I also have a very big rolling computer bag bursting at the seems with champagne bottles.

The books and coasters are for a vegetarian “meetup” group that I’m meeting with tomorrow to do a vegetarian beer tasting. The bottles contain homebrewed organic best bitter. Why am I carrying ten champagne bottles of homebrew on the train? I’m on vacation and I plan to enjoy myself by drinking all ten over the next three hours.

Champagne of beersOkay, that’s not true. The bottles are actually for “Get Fresh with Sara Snow,” a new TV show on the Discovery Health channel. An upcoming hour-long episode features a bride and groom doing an eco-wedding. They wanted organic homebrew for the reception so Seven Bridges donated a kit and I went to New York to brew with Sara and the groom. Their schedule was tight so we had to demonstrate brewing and bottling all at once, which meant the beer we “brewed” was never actually fermented. I had to brew a real batch of the same beer at home and now I’m going back to New York to deliver it in time for the wedding.

So although I’m not planning to drink ten champagne bottles of beer, I do plan to enjoy myself on the train. I brought a bottle of Victory Golden Monkey and Botany of Desire by Michael Pollan to accompany me on the ride. I love train rides.

The TV episode was scheduled to air in July but I ran into Sara at the Green Festival last weekend in Chicago and she said now it might air in June. Stay tuned for details.

6 Responses to The Champagne of Organic Beers

  1. Kiko says:

    Hi Chris,

    Next time that you go to New York take a bus to Ithaca. I’m sorry there are no trains.

    How was the greenfest?

  2. beeractivist says:

    Hey! Kiko!

    I wish I could be in Ithaca visiting you guys – spring time by your pond, drinking homebrew – sounds wonderful. I’ll have to figure out a way to make it happen. Cheers to you and Susanna.

  3. Kiko says:

    This past months I’ve been brewing a lot. You better come before we drink it all.

  4. beeractivist says:

    We’ll certainly try!

  5. […] and fair trade. But if you’re into beer, you should totally check out how beer’s the new champagne — and how beer’s the […]

  6. Champagne says:

    Champagne is a wonderful party drink, whether it is for a celebration, a simple gathering of friends, or even a dinner party. In fact Champagne is exceptionally food friendly and goes very well with an enormous number of foods like seafood, chicken, quiche and other egg dishes, hard cheeses, and much more. However it is on the expensive side and if you are buying more than a bottle or two it is worth doing some research.

Leave a Reply

