Bee Activist: Are Organic Bees Doing Better?

Drop an ‘r’ from Beer Activist and whaddya have? Bee Activist! As I mentioned yesterday, I’ve begun keeping honey bees. In addition to making mead and honey beer from their honey, there are also lots of other issues to ponder and things to do with bees.

Colony Collapse Disorder (CCD) is the new term for a mysterious phenomenon in the bee world – colonies are simply disappearing, en masse. This article in Grist suggests that organic and/or small scale, locally-maintained bee hives are doing better than the big industrial colonies that are trucked across the country and fed a diet of high-fructose corn syrup.

My favorite quote comes at the end: “Support your local foodshed — and give extra-special love to your local honey producers.” Hey, that’s me! Gimme some shugah!

Read the whole article here.

11 Responses to Bee Activist: Are Organic Bees Doing Better?

  1. Tina says:

    When I was a kid in the 50’s there were bees everywhere during summer in Seattle. I think that people should be encouraged to plant areas of clover and dandylions in their yards. Maybe a “perfect” yard without natural elements should be shunned as not being GREEN. Instead of perfect “golf course” landscaping, we should value weeds: What is the definition of a weed? A flower that grows without being watered!

    Quote

    Declining honeybees may affect nation’s diet – Diet & Nutrition – MSNBC.com

  2. beeractivist says:

    Hi Tina, thanks for the comments. I’m with you – “no-lawn” yards sound good to me!

  3. Pixie says:

    I am glad you have some bees take good care of them. No beer for the bees. I have been reading that one of the things that makes the bees have more problems is taking away their own honey and feeding them sugar, this seems to cause them to have like aids in humans. Have you heard much about that, have you ever fed your bees sugar. I can’t imagine why people wouldn’t let them eat as much of their own honey as they wanted.

  4. Pixie says:

    Oh you should see the dandelions in my yard and the clover too. Is beautiful a beekeepers dream. No keg though.

    http://green-mamas.blogspot.com/

  5. beeractivist says:

    I’m just starting out and trying to learn as I go. A beekeeper friend has generously offered to host my hive in his yard so I’m kind of tagging along this year. I’m not planning on taking any honey from the hive this year, but my friend did add a sugar syrup feed to the hive yesterday as a favor. I’m open to seeking alternatives, but the general wisdom seems to be to make sure they are well fed when they are a new hive – that way they become accustomed to the new box as their home, i.e. a place where they can get food. I’m not sure if the syrup he is using is organic or not, but I’m going to talk to him about it. All tips and hints are appreciated.

  6. Pixie says:

    I did read somewhere that it is a common practice during the brooding period. I was just thinking honey would be better and the cost worth it.

    Goodluck with your bees once again.

  7. beeractivist says:

    Thanks Pixie! I’ll keep sharing my beekeeping trials and tribulations on the blog.

  8. kvh says:

    I can top your witty wordplay. I currently work for an art school in Baltimore (yes, that one) in the Printmaking Department. Drop one letter (the same letter as you in fact) and I go from working in the printmaking field to the Pint Making field. Oh, how I long to work as a Pint Maker.

  9. beeractivist says:

    Pint-making – I love it! I also love the photos on your website. Nice stuff. If you ever get down DC-way, lemme know and we’ll have a pint.

  10. Haha, who would want to go on a unrealistic diet ,anyone?. Eat how much you like, just please rememebr to keep fit

  11. big men says:

    Not too bad. But seriously, what are you gnna to do bout all this spam.

Leave a Reply

