Better Brewing with Computers

My laptop, a Toshiba Tecra, has been inexplicably crapping out on me. The screen either just goes black, as if it lost power, or else it freezes up and there’s no recourse except to manually turn it off and restart. But now it’s reached the point where it crashes within seconds of restarting, so I’m trying to figure out how to get all my files off and buy a new computer.

But there is good news.

Finally, after going through a virus attack, losing a hard drive, fighting off hackers, upgrading all my software, installing fire-walls, being threatened with being cut-off by my email provider, and a host of other problems, I have fixed my computer. Now it works exactly the way I want it to.

draft computing

Actually I’m serious about the first part though, my Toshiba Tecra really has crapped out and I don’t know what to do. Advice is welcome, either on how to repair it or at least remove my files or suggestions on new computer options.

6 Responses to Better Brewing with Computers

  1. jimmy says:

    Well, if you have another computer, you can buy an external enclosure, put the Tecra HD in it, and try to get it to mount as a slave (some jumper moving may be neccesary) and get the info off.

    Another great reason to do at least a monthly back-up (not mocking, I’ve done the same thing several times).

  2. kvh says:

    buy a mac.

    seriously, it’s not because it’s hip, fancy, artsy, or whatever. they just work. and if you think switching over will be difficult, it won’t be. this isn’t to say that it won’t ever break down, but the whole virus attack, firewall, hacker problem is genuinely a non issue.

    if you think they’re too expensive, consider what you’ve investe in repairing on your current one and add that to the price of a new one.

    just my 2 cents.

  3. beeractivist says:

    kvh – thanks for the advice. I’ve actually been coming to the same conclusion myself. My brother is also looking into buying a new one and he’s going to make the switch too. I saw the new iphone over the weekend, and I’m no technophile but I gotta say I really liked that thing. It was incredibly easy to use. They just seem to understand user behavior better.

    Cheers,
    Chris

  4. beeractivist says:

    Jimmy – thanks, that kinda went over my head but I’ll check with some friends who know computers a little better and see if they get what you mean.

    Cheers,
    Chris

  5. kvh says:

    Adding also to Jimmy’s comment – Pick up an external HD, and periodically back up to it – they’re surprisingly cheap.

    The new mac books and mac book pros have built in motion sensors that will instantly stop a HD from spinning when they sense movement (preventing scratching on the HD and seriously extending the computer life,) BUT, a laptop is still a laptop, and they inherently take way more abuse than any desktop computer – that is of course unless you consider the possibility of that draft beer up above springing a leak – dangerous… and kinda awesome.

    kvh

  6. Hello there, just doing some browsing for my Toshiba site. Amazing the amount of information on the web. Wasn’t exactly what I was looking for, but nice site. Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

