Fair Trade Coffee Stout from Short’s Brewing and Higher Grounds

Regular readers may know that I am working on my second book right now. In this one the idea is to do for coffee what Fermenting Revolution tried to do with beer – tell the story of equity and sustainability by reading the coffee grounds, so to speak.

That’s right I said “we” because the new book is a joint project between me and my friends Chris and Jodi Treter at Higher Grounds Trading, which is their 100% fair trade, organic coffee roasting business (and new cafe!). But Chris and Jodi and I share something else in common: a deep love of beer.

Cup a joeThat’s why they recently partnered with their local brewery, Short’s Brewing Company, to produce a fair trade coffee stout. I haven’t been up to Bellaire, MI yet to taste it (they invited me up to celebrate its release and I cried in my beer when I had to tell them I couldn’t make), but here’s what the reviews are saying about it.

Short’s concocted a mean Coffee Creme Stout using Mayan Magic Espresso Blend coffee from Higher Grounds, whose owner (and my friend and current co-collaborator on the new coffee book) Chris Treter sipped on a few last week when he visited Joe Short and his crew to celebrate the new beer.

He reported tasting “notes of chocolate with a creme-like body” fill his mouth “as the all-too-familiar dark roasted coffee flavor graces the aftertaste with each sip.”

Golden RuleShort’s also has at least one organic offering, called The Golden Rule, this IPA is brewed with 100% organic malts and hops, described as emitting an “earthy perfume with hop oils and resins that intrigue the palette.”

For more about beer and coffee, check out my article in Mid Atlantic Brewing News, entitled, predictably enough: “Beer and Coffee.” Stay tuned for a follow up article appearing in the next issue of New Brewer magazine.

3 Responses to Fair Trade Coffee Stout from Short’s Brewing and Higher Grounds

  1. […] of the poorest coffee and cocoa producers are the descendants of these marginalized native peoples. Fair Trade is a trade justice movement attempting to address these historic inequalities by working directly […]

  2. […] Houston Students for Fair Trade with the Beer Activist? Fair trade beer! I’ve blogged before about brewers using fair trade coffee in their beers. So, to celebrate Fair Trade month, the UH Students for Fair Trade are sponsoring me […]

  3. I might state. This is the very first time I frequented your web page and up to now? I surprised with the research you made to create this actual post incredible. Fantastic task!

Leave a Reply

