Fiber & Grain: A Knitter’s Guide to Beer

In chapter 16 of Fermenting Revolution, “Putting the Ale back in Female,” I entreat women to get back to brewing and take back the pint from the conniving corporations that have stolen their tradition.

It looks like someone is actually taking this message and brewing with it. According to her blog, Jenne Hiigel has begun homebrewing and is taking the craft one step further in order to promulgate it far and wide.

“As an avid fan of both knitting and fresh craft-brewed beer, I began to see similarities in the two crafts. My first inclination to connect the two was an unexpected question that popped into my mind… “What beer should I drink while knitting a black wool, simple rib sweater?” The answer, at the time, was a bock beer from Anchor Steam Brewing Company.

Since that seed was planted in my poor brain, I haven’t been able to let go of it and my book project was born. After reading Chris O’Brien’s book, Fermenting Revolution: How to Drink Beer and Save the World, I realized my book project needed to include homebrewing. In “A Knitter’s Guide to Beer” I will compare the craft of knitting to the craft of brewing, with the goal of showing how well the two go together and how both genders should feel equally comfortable in both crafts.

This project is currently in the early stages, but will hopefully progress at a steady pace… so long as I can take time away from my knitting, homebrewing, and brewpub research to get in some writing time. Housecleaning and meal preparation will most likely have to take a back seat.”

Hey Jenne, in case you’re reading this, check out this earlier post for some like-minded inspiration from another knitter.

2 Responses to Fiber & Grain: A Knitter’s Guide to Beer

  1. hiigel says:

    Chris,
    Thanks again for the inspiration you gave me to take up brewing. My book project is progressing; a little slower than I originally hoped, but it’s still coming along nicely. The more people I talk to about beer and knitting, the more enthusiastic interest I generate.

    Our Beer & Knitting nights are continuing to gain popularity. I even had a homebrewing knitter track me down at work today to find out how to join the group.

    I’m on my fourth batch of Porter and am ready to try an IPA next. I had good success with a clone recipe for Fuller’s London Porter. I also brewed a clone of Alaskan Smoked Porter that is just now ready to drink and tasting quite nice.

    When my book is published, I’ll send you a copy as a thank you!
    Jenne Hiigel

  2. beeractivist says:

    Jenne – thanks! Looking forward to it. You should get in touch with my friend Andrea, author of KnitSpeak. She’s a knitter extraordinaire but has yet to get hip to homebrewing and beer in general. Maybe she needs a nudge from another knitter? Here’s her website: http://www.knitspeak.com/

    Cheers,
    Chris

Leave a Reply

