Beer Activist On the Big Screen

beerwarslivetheatreposterWord has it that I make an appearance in a new movie titled Beer Wars. It might be a three second spot, or I might be saying something completely stupid. I suppose there is also a chance they caught me in a rare moment of lucid visionary pontification. At the very least, I feel confident that I am saying something about drinking beer and/or saving the world.

But the only way you’ll find out is if you attend the one night premier on April 16th, occuring at theatres across the nation. Visit the Beer Wars website for theatre locations and more details about this intriguing new documentary on the clash between global beer corporations and small craft brewers.

Even more exciting news, at least for me, is that the film option for my book, Fermenting Revolution: How to Drink Beer and Save the World, was sold to be made into its own documentary. Yes, really! Someone paid money for the right to produce a documentary about how to drink beer and save the world. I’m sure there are many pitfalls on the path between that commitment and actually making a film, so my fingers are crossed. If you know someone who might be interested in investing in such a film, send them my way (use the contact form on this site).

6 Responses to Beer Activist On the Big Screen

  1. lthompso says:

    Drinking beer and saving the world – My 2 favorite activities! Congrats and keep us posted on how it goes.

    Laura @ BeyondBeerMoney.com

  2. Dave Bonta says:

    Whoa. Awesome, dude!

  3. Tim says:

    Congratulations!

  4. Ed says:

    Nice job!

  5. […] & Emery LLP), talks about the sheer volume of state beer laws. And ‘beer activist’ Chris O’Brien discusses the unintended monopolistic consequences of the three-tier […]

  6. beeractivist says:

    Thanks for the kind thoughts everyone. I thought the film turned out pretty well, showing how difficult it can be for small brewers to break into mainstream distribution.

    It didn’t touch on sustainability issues at all, so I guess that means a Fermenting Revolution documentary still has a potential audience without being redundant. I’m excited to see what works out with the production company that bought the film rights to my book. They are called Asterisk Productions and here is there website: http://www.asterisk.bc.ca/index.htm.

    Cheers!
    Chris

Leave a Reply

